Raw Naked Art

I recently posted an update to our series on the History and Art of Street Photography (and photography in general). It’s on our Raw Naked Art blog, and I encourage you to stop by and read it if you’re interested. This post features Robert Frank (below), whose 1958 book The Americans was considered a milestone in photography and in how Americans and the world viewed this country.

robert-frank

Assuming some interest, I’ll be contrasting him next with Elliott Erwitt of Magnum photos, a contemporary and critic whose wonderful photos were of things like dogs and feet. Yeah. This is art over social documentation. Erwitt dumped Frank as a friend because he felt he went the “wrong way” in choosing not to be arty. Because dogs. The high and mighty Magnum Photos group denied Frank entry because he took landscape photos and magazines were portrait.

These are the idiots who have been defining photography up to now. Maria and I are determined to fix that.

The reason I’m posting this and not reblogging is that Maria recently spent weeks toiling over a piece on how to read images, a critical part 4 in her series on the Art and Composition of photography specifically and art in general. Eleven people clicked “LIKE” here, although about 3,800 words were omitted from the summary. That leads me to believe that folks didn’t really bother to read it. It shouldn’t annoy me, but she’s my best friend as well as my wife, and, frankly, it pissed me off something fierce that all of 7 people stopped by the piece and I’m the only one who read it.

Please don’t feel you have to stop in, but if you click “LIKE” be sincere. We deserve that much. With or without people’s interest, this will probably become at least 1 book on photography and art. It is being taught the wrong way, and much of what’s out there is bollocks. I hope you join our series so that you can tell the shit from the shine.

Thanks.

6 thoughts on “Raw Naked Art

  1. I may not know art, but I know what I like.
    I may not know technique, or style, but I know what I like.

    If I don’t like it … I don’t ‘Like’ it, and that button doesn’t get pushed.

    On occasion I may like something for the wrong reasons (seeing the funny side of tragedy is an ancient favourite) but if I have to ask “What is this guy trying to show me, here?” then I think the both of us have missed the boat.

    Bugger … this could get complicated …

    Liked by 2 people

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

