Track B – The Art of Street Photography, Part 4: The Hidden Story Within an Image.

This is NOT a photo of a gun chair. It’s a 4000-word piece on art and photography, focusing on how to read an image. I hope you’ll take the time to read it.

Raw, Naked Art

Part Four of my series The Art of Street Photography, which forms Track B of mine and Bill’s continuing joint series The Art and History of Street Photography, will begin to focus on the interpretation of a photographic image. In this article I aim to introduce the concept of a visual narrative and the way in which we may begin to read images as stories. I have covered certain aspects of this in previous posts, Part 2: The Real Versus the Almost Real, and Mono Versus Colour. This is an expansive subject in itself and will more than likely form the core of my series as I believe it to be fundamental to the understanding of photographic composition. I ask those who are already familiar with the series, and newcomers alike who are interested in following to exercise an open mind and a little patience as I…

View original post 3,801 more words

One thought on “Track B – The Art of Street Photography, Part 4: The Hidden Story Within an Image.

  1. You’ve changed your watermark … I like it. Simple, unintrusive … but I do like that shot of the chair.

    Hidden impact, boom boom! Takes a few moments to hit, even better.

    Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

