Flying Octopi and Other Sea Birds…

Flying Octopi_MPHIX

I got a new camera for Christmas, the Canon SX60 with a 1365mm zoom lens. I hadn’t really tested it until Bill and I went to Miami for a week in order to avoid the storm that has become known as Snowzilla. Suffice to say the weather in Miami was great, I’m still recovering from having got burnt in the sun. My first time there, and apparently the furthest south in the northern hemisphere that I’ve ever been.

I had a lot of fun with this camera despite my reservations while shooting, as the viewfinder is not spectacular, also owing to the harsh light conditions it was too difficult to see on the LCD whether the images were sharp or not. There is a slight delay between pressing the shutter button and actual image capture, something you have to get the feel of, not least because any micro movements are translated to the angle of the telephoto lens, especially when fully extended, and you can miss your shot entirely, not to mention image blur. It does have inbuilt image stabilisation which proves its worth, even though you still require a very steady hand to achieve clear pictures, as with any camera.

Having returned home and uploaded them to the Mac I can say that I am really impressed at the quality and sharpness of the shots. Even fully extended, the telephoto lens produces great images just handheld, no tripod in sight. Click on the gallery below to see some of my favourite images of the Miami trip using the Canon. It was great to see unfamiliar seabirds too, that was a real treat.

19 thoughts on “Flying Octopi and Other Sea Birds…

    1. Thanks, Ark! It is a Skimmer. I’d never seen them before. We also caught sight of a couple huge Frigate Birds circling high above the beach. I tried to capture them on camera, but they were just too fast and far away to get clearly.

      As for settling in the States, I’m doing ok. People seem to have trouble understanding me sometimes, especially when I ask for water. I find speaking in Spanish tends to be a lot more helpful in most instances.

      How’s you?

      Like

    1. It’s a great camera, for sure. It’s a lot of fun, especially at full zoom. I was impressed at how you can pick out people on the beach at a distance and be really nosy. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I’ve tended not to take so many pictures of wildlife as most creatures like to keep their distance, and without the right equipment it’s hard to get good shots. I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can capture with this super-zoom beast! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    1. For macro shots this camera is even better than my Fujis, which is saying something. The clarity is superb, though worth using the selective timer or a tripod to help stabilise it at such close range as the shutter button is a little stiffer than on other cameras. It’s also bulky, but then I’m used to the much smaller Fujifilms X100S and 30. Although, despite its bulk it is very lightweight, which was a big plus for me.

      I suppose all cameras have their pros and cons. You considering it…?

      Like

      1. I am now after reading your post!
        I have a Canon EOS so I’m used to the weight ( bulk) – I used an Olympus OM10 back in the day ( still have it)

        But this sounds about perfect for someone like me who is a rank amateur with almost a phobia when it comes to complicated instructions.

        Like

        1. You’ll be in luck then, because it functions just like other canons, with maybe a few added features. It also has a fish-eye mode, which I’ve yet to try out, I might actually have to consult the manual for that, even though like most camera manuals it’s scant on information. That’s what makes them complicated, I think!

          If I manage to work it out I’ll let you know. 🙂

          The zoom lens when fully extended is skittish, as the camera suddenly feels very light in your hands and every single nudge of breath makes you lose target, but it’s just a case of getting a feel for it and anticipating the shot a split second before you take it to give the camera time to catch up. You almost have to sneak up on the shutter button. Then again you may find the mechanism is just like your current Canon, in which case it’ll be a doddle.

          Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

