Details – Jewels

Jewels_MPHIX

You see, I’m all about the tones and the shapes in my photography, no matter what I’m shooting, but few people will get that. There are a lot of photographers out there who think it’s all about the subject, except it really isn’t. The brain responds to shape, colour, and pattern more readily than it does to subject (incidentally this is even the case in language), releasing endorphins instantly when a favourable combination is hit upon. That doesn’t necessarily mean bungee-jumping off a tall building with your camera, or dicing with death as you try to snap a missile speeding over your head. Endorphins are what give you feelings of joy, that in turn make you smile and feel love and pleasure. Good art, and photography is all about the endorphin rush. That’s what photographers and artists, and appreciators of all kinds of art get addicted to. So are you just a photographer or are you an artist? Do you appreciate the art in the mundane details as much as you love the excitement of being daring and controversial?

8 thoughts on “Details – Jewels

  1. I agree with you whole heartily. I took a great photography class from a B&W Master -an apprentice of Ansel Adams. He made us use his large format camera. Of course everything was upside down and students were complaining. He said, “good composition is good composition”. If it looks good upside down, it will look even better right side up. That single paradigm shift in my thinking was huge. I realized I often focused on familiarity instead of composition when looking right side up. When forced to detach that aspect of familiarity by looking at an image upside down, I focused more on the lines and balance. I am in no way a pro photographer and I still have a lot to learn, but I absolutely get where you are coming from and love your work. Photography can be as mood altering as a drug.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your marvellous comment and for sharing your thoughts. I love that notion of looking at s shot first upside down before deciding whether it’s good or not. Ansel Adams made a great point. As you say it hard not to focus on familiarity alone when assessing a scene to be photographed, although of course the recognisable familiarity is also what can make a shot successful or not. I was brought up as an artist so patterns, shapes and colour palettes are all important to producing good work. The same compositional devices however are just as applicable to photography and in fact quite instinctive on the part of the photographer/artist according to various scientific studies. All very fascinating stuff. Once introduced to such concepts and devices, it becomes very difficult to un-see them in your own work and the work of others.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Asked once about she managed always to paint such superb horses, a young lady once answered to the effect that “No problem. There on the canvas I see the horse … so I just cover it with paint”.

    (That’s a classy signature you have there, but it does seem to detract from the lovely shots a wee bitβ€”?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now Argie, we’ve spoken about this before. As I am attempting to sell my work as hangable art it is my best interests to plaster my copyrighted signature all over the shots, whether it detracts or not. It still isn’t so invasive that you cannot enjoy the shot as is. There are a lot of folks out there who are more than happy to pass your work off as their own which does no good to my reputation as an artist and photographer. Needs must as they say.

      Like

      1. I understand that … just a pity about that ‘other way’; but needs must etc. Still: it IS a classy signature, and loses you no points in the great scheme of things. Good luck, and sell heaps~! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you Argie! Truth be told, if I can hide my signature within the image then I would much prefer to do that, although with some images where it would be conspicuous it’s as easy to make it obvious at the bottom corner like I have with this one. Maybe I’m not being creative enough… πŸ™‚

          Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

