Romeo’s Gone Out…

“Romeo’s gone out…

blue shutter

…He left several centuries ago and never returned. I’m sure he’ll be back soon though…”

I had a very short sleep last night, about ten centimetres long in fact. I was up late pouring through photos, cropping and enhancing in order to produce the current crop of shots I’m posting today, bearing in mind that my today started yesterday. Anyway, every time I visit Venice I take a wander through the Doge’s Palace, and always armed with my camera, despite the fervour of the museum wardens in their prevention of photographs, I always take a snap of the façade of the prison building opposite that is only visible through one of the upper floor windows. Luckily said window has been open every time I have visited. The crumbling plaster and the exposed brick beneath is fascinating to me, not to mention the stark contrast of the line of heavily weathered blue wooden shutters that span the length of the building at amply spaced, dilapidated intervals. The marriage of tones and contrasts that are sharpened by the summer sun make this vision a treat for my artistic eye, (I only have the one, the other one is currently on loan at the Accademia Gallery just across the Big Canal, I say on loan, but it got transfixed by a rather large room-sized painting of the original wooden Rialto Bridge that caught its attention. It’s refusing to leave, convinced that it saw one of the almost life-sized people in the crowd move…). Spooky…

I’ve mentioned this in brief in a previous post, but recently I have been paying attention to the way that my eyes perceive light and colour compared to the way my camera senses same. What I noticed, quite surprisingly is that there is quite a significant discrepancy betwixt the two. Ever the trying to capture in digital format exactly what it is my indecently naked artistic eye sees, I have been fiddling about with the settings post processing, in order to try to reproduce my original vision as best as possible. The increase in saturation for example is around 20-25% to that of the camera. The warmth of the shot is reduced slightly, perhaps a tweak of the over all exposure, and a sharpening of the contrast, and that’s pretty much it. It’s as close as I have been able to get it. Although a more in-depth comparison might be necessary in order to really ascertain the correct settings, especially with regard to shooting in colour.

Of course what I don’t know is whether this would be true of all photographer’s eyeses, I would imagine not, as we all physically perceive our world differently, theoretically. Far removed from the neutrally toned ambience of old fashioned photographic equipment, the sensors in high end digital cameras these days are pretty darned impressive, (my camera is quite a snazzy one if I may boast). However, the human eye is a tough act to follow, so it’s an interesting thing to ponder, and one that has the potential to change the way I present the art of me through my photography. In pleasing ways I hope, but most certainly more tailored to my flavour of vision.

13 thoughts on “Romeo’s Gone Out…

  1. This is one (of many) things I love about about “art”. It is so very personal, from creation, observation and interpretation. I like the title, the photo and the narrative 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Maya. Excuse my very late response to your comment on this post. But sometimes I miss notifications, I’m really not trying to be rude. Luckily I happened upon this while looking through previous posts. Your thoughts are always appreciated. Hope all is well in your corner of the universe. 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you Argie. To me the original was just too muted, not how I remember it to be honest. But without going back and putting it to the test…still, I’m glad you like it. 🙂

      Like

  2. I think I currently have 6 cameras, and have used 9 over the course of my life. My experience has been that film accurately reproduces colour, but digital cameras are uniforming underwhelming when it comes to accurately reproducing colour. As I mentioned to you, I shoot color mostly on “vivid” which only serves to make it look normal. Similarly, I usually find that the shots are lower in contrast and dimmer than in real life. I’m not certain if it’s the camera or the monitors, but I always make those adjustments.

    I think you’ve now become skilled enough that you instinctively remember how it looked to your eyes and reproduce it. People think the camera doesn’t lie, but that’s not true. It’s the photographer’s brain that knows the truth. Besides, colours are richer than our eyes see anyway. Real is nice, but great artists never strive for real; they shoot for “right.”

    This looks right to me.

    Like

    1. Back in the day of celluloid film I remember always trying to buy Kodak, even though it was more expensive, but the richness of colour it produced was far superior and truer to what I hoped to achieve. What Kodak paper did was to enhance the blue spectrum more, thus giving the illusion of a greater depth of field. As a lifelong artist I understand how colours shape a composition and how they draw you into it. High contrasts, rich colours, and a little more on the cool side, so it comes as no surprise that I’m having to use the same techniques on my shots now in order to make them look, not only more ‘true to life’, but adding that artistic element that compels you to look and be drawn in. The more three dimensional you can make a two dimensional work of art look, the more it will appeal the eye, because the brain recognises it as being familiar. This is why people are impressed by those artists who can reproduce paintings with photographic precision, not because it’s a superior form of art, but because it’s more familiar to our eyes, thus giving us a sense of enchantment. It allows us imaginative escape into familiar territory.

      Actually when I shot with my little Canon, it would always be set on Vivid.

      Thank you for your thoughts love, and for liking the shot.

      Like

        1. What I didn’t expect was that I would have to tweak my shots taken with the Fuji. Like you said, all cameras lie. That has been an interesting one to learn as I have had little experience with high quality equipment.

          Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

