By lantern light.

Shooting by lantern light.

*

I was very impressed with the Fuji X100S and it’s performance in low light levels. Considering I wasn’t using a tripod, I’m pleased with the results. Bill had his Fuji X20 with him during our trip to Granada recently, so it was interesting to experiment with the different settings to see if we could work out how to shoot at night. Apparently neither camera is supposed to perform very well at lower light levels, but I have to say I disagree. Possibly the only difficulty I had was shooting the Alhambra Palace all lit up against the black night sky, high up on the mount, but that was mostly because there was a glitch occurring with the camera focus. If I remember, Bills X20 had no issues at all. He took some great shots of the Palace. Granted we spent quite a lot of time fiddling with settings, trying to find the right one. What I discovered is that many more adjustments have to be made per subject at night because the differential in ambient light is much greater than it is during the daylight hours. Over all I was pleased that I managed to crack street-shooting at night with the X100S. A successful experiment.

14 thoughts on “By lantern light.

    1. Thank you John! The coloured lanterns were what really caught my eye, and the shot just doesn’t do them justice. They were very beautiful and colourful. It was quite magical.

      Like

    1. Thank you! It was a case of trial and error really, and whacking the ISO up. I think it comes down to the camera and the power of the sensor truth be told, as my little Canon just doesn’t cope with those light levels. The Fuji does have its limits though before you have to start employing a tripod, not something I’ve tried. It will also be interesting to see what I can make it do once I get it fixed.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Personally I don’t bother with the guides and handbooks. The more you get to know your equipment, the more control you’re going to have over it. I know so little about cameras really, so all that jargon means nothing to me. But because I’ve been an artist all my life, I know what I am trying to achieve, and with producing any work of art you have to get to know your medium and make adjustments. It’s always a learning curve, and that bit I enjoy a lot, as much as producing the art.

          Like

    1. Yes, that seems to be the case. I figured out when I was in Venice that the ISO needed to quite high, and a cooler incandescent light filter employed. Though when we were in Granada, I realised that didn’t always apply. I almost had to tailor each shot specifically to the subject with quite big changes in settings, even if to my eye the difference in light levels wasn’t huge.

      Like

      1. Granada was tough because the light varied so greatly. Some places really didn’t lend themselves to night photography without a tripod. But you’d get killed trying to set one up on those narrow streets.

        Like

  1. Trial and error … wonderful that with digital the lessons are effectively free. From the shot above I’d say you’ve cracked it already~!

    I carry in my own camera case a wee ‘bean bag’, a small linen-ish bag The Spouse gave me that I filled with rice—everywhere I go with my camera that faithful bag is right there, and when stability is called for (but the tripod isn’t to hand) the ol’ beanie does the job. Okay, I did have to refill it soon after the first time; after which I patiently sowed the zipper permanently shut—that was after I’d vacuumed the car. Amazing how a one-pint bag can leak six gallons of rice …)

    Like

    1. Morning Argie! Your wife is a genius! A bean bag makes total sense, and much more of a convenience than a tripod. I like to travel light when I go out shooting, it’s why I like my Fuji, it’s not as big as an SLR even though it kicks an SLR’s butt in quality and precision.

      I bet you were still finding rice ages after…rice reproduces you know…

      Like

      1. Endlessly, dammit!

        Actually I may just take a snap of my beanbag and post it under the cover of ‘Dialogue’; it may help some folks.

        Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

