Burano in Technicolour

Original image copyright Maria Phillips a.k.a Bess X Jones 2014

I am very a much purist when it comes to taking shots. My Fuji X100S is a retro-style, 3/4 camera, with full digital functions, gadgets and gizmos, also fully manual features, exactly like a good old fashioned camera. The kind of which I grew up with. My fiancé always looks slightly confused when I tell him that I compose each of my shots as if my camera actually had film in it. He believes in the power of digital ease, and rightly so, why bother with the faff right?
However, for me one shot should suffice (partly because I have a hard time deleting shots unless they are no good – I do however use the automatic focus button), also because having been an artist all my life I like the challenge it sets in getting the shot ‘right’ in the first place. I feel a real sense of achievement when I get a shot I love.
My fiancé being the technologically advanced man he is, and very talented photographer I might add, is always introducing me to new editing techniques that help ‘paintify’ (a word he’d use) my captures, and to give them that extra double-whammy factor. So I’ve been playing around lately, getting ever braver with my exploits, and realising that it’s immense fun, with the results at times being quite astounding. This works particularly well with those shots that I consider to be quite dull because of inopportune light-levels and such like. The times when I just couldn’t achieve the effect I wanted, but was too reluctant to delete the shot, just in case I could do something with it.

With the image of the docks on the island of Burano in Venice above, all I did was tweak the colour and contrast settings a little, the composition is as it was taken. But I’m liking the effect a lot. It appeals to the synaesthete in me very much. It’s how I see the world in my mind.

9 thoughts on “Burano in Technicolour

  1. I’ve heard people say you should make the photograph look like the world looks. However, this ignores the fact that how the human eye sees the world, or how the camera sees the world, is not how it looks. I’m sure somewhere there are beings or animals whose eyes allow for more light, and thus richer colors. Lovely work. 🙂

    Like

  2. This is honestly beautiful in its composition Bess. I am still envious of your camera though! But seriously though; never lose your artistic vision. I totally relate to why you feel the need to compose the image the way in which you like it prior to the shot.
    Stunning effect

    Like

    1. Thank you Bob for your lovely comments, and for taking the time to stop by. I really do appreciate it.
      I think this could be a new artistic medium for me, though I will always be a fan of a good clean photograph! 🙂

      Like

  3. I think this shot is beautiful!
    I started to talk to someone one day about how much I loved the post-processing of my photos and was abruptly cut off, being told that this person never edited, he just concentrated on taking good pictures from the onset. I considered (briefly) to ask him if he thought anyone started out with the intent of taking BAD photos, but then thought better of it…we probably didn’t have much common ground.
    Like you, I shoot in modes other than automatic and I take a lot of shots and even if I get one that I think is almost perfect, I find that there is almost always some improvement with post processing.
    Photography is art form that has changed over time but there is room at the table for all aspects. If someone doesn’t agree, they can just sit elsewhere 🙂

    Like

    1. What a great comment, thank you Maya! Thing is, even in the good ol’days before digital photography, post-processing was carried out in the darkroom until the desired effect was achieved. So really it’s all much of a muchness. The photographic puritans just lack imaginative mobility. Photography, as you say, is an art form, with digital enhancement tools as an extra medium.
      I nearly always tweak my shots once uploaded, because depending on the software the exposure can shift and alter the original shot that looked so great on the camera.
      I love working with the not so good shots because you can often be really creative with those ones. It’s good fun too. 🙂

      Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

