Weekly Photo Challenge – Split-second Story

St. Marc’s Square, or Piazza San Marco in Venice is one of the few places in the world that has centuries of stories to tell. You can stand at any point within the Piazza, turn a full 360˚ and have witnessed 1700 years’s worth of remarkable history in a split-second. Piazza San Marco has always been the gateway to Venice, and to one of the financial superpowers of the world (yes, even now). My children, captured in this image chasing the many flocks of pigeons that come to scavenge for scraps left by the thousands of tourists that pass through its ancient colonnades and across its gleaming white marble flagstones daily. So many people in one place with their own stories to tell in that moment that I decided to press the shutter-button to take the shot, and of course myself and my love for Venice that inspires me to return to this one spot time and again. I wonder how many children have chased pigeons in this exact same spot over the centuries? I wonder also if my own children will return and remember this moment too?

 

If you would like to participate in the Weekly Photo Challenge, or any of the other WordPress challenges click here!

30 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Split-second Story

  1. Reblogged this on IshaiyaFreshlySqueezed and commented:
    If but for a moment we could turn back time and relive certain moments with the freshness of a newly formed eye, would we blink and see that before us lay the world in all its splendour urging us to remember and tell its story? Perhaps. With each moment that passes we tell so many tales that change as we change, and as our memories of those moments change. How lucky we are to experience what we do. How precious and equally abundant each moment is.

    Like

  2. I like this~! The essence is in the shot, but the background and setting hold wealth too. Did you get them to run, or was it a spontaneous thing you caught—no, don’t answer, that was just me thinking out loud and any answer would spoil the shot.

    Like

    1. Completely spontaneous. But then my kids had been running around all day all over Venice chasing pigeons. They thought it was a great game. Hope I haven’t spoiled it for you…
      And thank you 🙂

      Like

        1. Yes. I remember that as a child growing up in Spain. My uncle used to breed racing pigeons and the noise that their wings make has always stuck with me.

          Like

    1. Thank you Connie, such lovely compliments! It is a wonderful place to experience at least once in life. I hope you get to take your kids too one day. They would love it, as I’m sure would you. 🙂

      Like

        1. I absolutely agree. I only ever saw it in paintings and travel brochures when I was young, but decided early on that I just had to visit someday. It took me 25 years to do so, but I have been returning every year since. It is where I belong, short and simple. It’s a pleasure to meet someone who loves it just as much!

          Like

          1. I hope that you do get to go again, I can never get enough of Venice personally. There is always so much to see.
            You are more than welcome to enjoy the Venetian sights here on my blog as I’m sure I’ll be posting shots from my trip for some weeks to come! 🙂

            Have a great day!
            Bess

            Like

    1. Thank you! It will always be one of my favourite places to be in the world I think. I plan to return to Venice at least once a year. There is nowhere else in the world I feel more at home. Have you been?

      Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

