Fallen Heroes (WPC – Monument)

I

Blue Flower

II

Can of soup

III

Vietnam memorial wall, Washington DC

A blue silk flower and a can of beef ravioliย left at the foot of the Vietnam Memorial Wall in Washington DC just a few days ago, in commemoration of one of the many soldiers who fell or went MIA during the Vietnam War. I thought it a touching gesture that all gifts are collected at the end of the day and placed within the adjacent museum with a little card to say who they were for. It is daunting to see how many names are chiselled into the hard shimmering black granite. An impressive and very moving piece, with relatives and veteran comrades of the fallen having come from afar via the coach load reflected along its length, staying long enough to pay their respects and to exchange personal stories.
I took many shots of the wall, but the above mini-series I found particularly poignant.

Vietnam Memorial Wall, Washington DC

10 thoughts on “Fallen Heroes (WPC – Monument)

    1. Hehe! I’m not really hiding, it’s just another hat to add to my collection. There is actually good reason for all this. Bill and I decided to shut down our photo blog and set up new ones where we could showcase our best shots. But I like changing my identity, confusing as it is for some (especially Ark, can’t cope with it at all bless him!). Anyway, Bill calls me Bess, a reference to Porgy and Bess, and I guess it’s stuck ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you for your loveliness Sonel, it’s nice to see you here ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Well, I love your hat collection so keep going. Next time just give me a heads up first. You know I’m blonde. As for Ark, he’s grey so don’t blame him. ๐Ÿ˜› Whahahahah!

        Great idea. You two are so clever and I love the blog. Will try to keep up with all the stunning shots for sure. ๐Ÿ˜€

        Tell Bill it’s a great name and it suits you. Just like Ish and Maria. ๐Ÿ˜€

        You’re welcome hon and you will definitely see me again. ๐Ÿ˜€ โ™ฅ Hugs โ™ฅ

        Like

        1. Yeah… sorry, fair dos. I often forget that people may not recognise me, just because I suppose from my perspective I’m still me… I know, doesn’t help… ๐Ÿ˜€
          Ark’s just as bad with changing his head-gear! Good job I like him a lot.

          Thank you for the lovely compliments though, you always know how to make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside Sonel. Look forward to your blondness ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Hugs back!

          Like

          1. hahahahah! No worries. Just pulling your leg … or is it your hair? ๐Ÿ˜† I would recognise you anywhere even with no hat on. hahahaha

            LOL! Now that was a good one but yes, he is the best for sure. ๐Ÿ˜€

            You are very welcome. I need warm and fuzzy now. It’s cold here. ๐Ÿ˜†
            No, don’t say that! It sucks being blonde. I want to be an undercover blonde! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

            Like

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

