Mr.Sandman (Daily Prompt)

Beach treasure

Once upon a time, I used to be an insomniac. I would stay awake until the small hours unable to switch my brain off. It turns out I’m a bit of a night owl, producing probably some of my best writing at least when the rest of my body is telling me to take a time-out and stop moving forgodsake. Except with age and increased responsibility, those nights spent churning around within the depths of my own mind are long gone. In fact I can sleep anywhere now it seems, at any time, and in any position. I walk everywhere a lot, and sometimes I am even convinced I could fall asleep while my body automatically takes me where I need to be without my conscious participation. I love to sleep, and I love to dream. I have some of the most awesome adventures while I sleep, travelling the world, meeting all kinds of people, and generally having experiences that range from the mundane to the fantastical. My mind is still like a ball of twine as I drift off into the land of nod, many convoluted threads leading in many directions, and to many different places. I find it exciting because it is this place in-between waking and dreaming that I draw all of my artistic inspiration from, and I often feel very fortunate that I spent so many of my formative years honing the skill of imaginative exploration through sheer lack of sleep. Everything pays off eventually, even if I can’t stay awake for very long anymore!

*

To participate in the Daily Prompt or other challenges click here for further information.

Speak now, or forever hold your piece. (Ew)

